Skip to navigation – Site map

Editorial Policies

Focus and Scope

1The Journal of the Text Encoding Initiative is the official journal of the Text Encoding Initiative Consortium. It publishes the proceedings of the annual TEI Conference and Members' Meeting and special thematic issues: state-of-the-art reports on electronic textual editing, current trends in TEI encoding, and new use cases for TEI. It furthermore provides a forum for articles on the discussion of the interface between the TEI and other communities, and more generally of the role of technological standards in the digital humanities, including digital scholarly editing, linguistic analysis, corpora creation, and newer areas such as mass digitization, semantic web research, and editing within virtual worlds.

Peer Review Process

2Articles published in Journal of the Text Encoding Initiative are peer reviewed.

Publication Frequency

3This journal will be published at least once a year.



5The editors are appointed by the TEI Board of Directors in staggered terms.

6Editor-in-Chief: Susan Schreibman (2010–2013)

7Technical Editor: Ron van den Branden (2012–2013)

8Managing Editor: Kevin S. Hawkins (2010–2012)

9In addition, issues may have one or more guest editors.

Advisory Board

10The Advisory Board members are appointed by the TEI Board of Director in staggered terms.

11Arianna Ciula (2010–2014)

12Matthew Driscoll (2010–2014)

13Julia Flanders (2010–2012)

14Fotis Jannidis (2010–2014)

15Nancy Ide (2010–2012)

16Wendell Piez (2010–2012)

17Sebastian Rahtz (2010–2014)

18Laurent Romary (2010–2012)

19Nathasha Smith (2010–2012)

20John Unsworth (2010–2014)